A little more comfortable

Our home is not big, but it’s filled with love. Well, honestly, there is a lot of love AND there’s a lot of stuff.  We are pretty much bursting at the seams, but I never give up trying to organize and maximize with style.

My most recent endeavor is our living room, which is the main gathering spot in our 6 room ranch.  I wasn’t sold on investing in new furniture during the holidays but my husband said he didn’t have a comfortable place to sit in the whole house, so that was the green light I needed to start shopping.

Of course I want it to be chic, but it has to be functional. So when I’m browsing at our local furniture showroom, I keep walking past the gorgeous ivory, tufted cotton couch.  I already know that a gray sectional couch is going to be the foundation for the room.  The coupon I have for an additional 20% off of the Veteran’s day sale at our local furniture store seals the deal.  I go ahead and purchase a charcoal Jonathan Louis sectional and so it begins.

Sundays

These guys need a finished basement ASAP!!

From there I log quite a few hours searching online, which works out well since Sundays at our house involve a lot of football and couch time, so I can snuggle right in.

As my search ensues, I’m focusing on a few things

1.  Stay on budget

2.  Find pieces that are comfortable, practical and also super cute

3.  Choose pieces that are kid and dog friendly

First place to start… Pinterest of course!  And, then I look to all the usual suspects – Pottery Barn, Joss & Main, One Kings Lane, Ballard Designs, Wayfair, Home Decorators etc to put together a mood board.

In order to stay on budget, I knew I’d have to work with some of the things we already have in our living room.  So, I decided I could work with our red accent wall and  I also decided that moving every item from our house for four days to refinish the floors wasn’t something I wanted to get involved with right now, so we’d be keeping the paint and flooring… for now.

Foundational furniture for our update

Foundational furniture for our update

Ballard Designs was having a 15% off sale, and since I fold over almost every page in their catalog I knew I’d find some great items – BUT imagine my surprise when I logged on to find 25% off!!  There is almost nothing I love more than a good deal, so I was ecstatic, and decided I could maybe even afford a corner shelf.  So here’s what I ordered:

Navy and cream polka dot arm chairs (Joss and Main)

Olivia antique brass mirrored side table (Ballard Designs)

Durham bunching cocktail tables (Ballard Designs)

Gray washed wood and white tall media console (Boston Interiors)

Gray and tan chevron indoor/outdoor rug (Ballard Designs)

With all key pieces ordered (and some are even arriving) all I have to do is wait.  I don’t want to buy any accessories until I see the fabrics and finishes.  Of course I’m anxious to see my mood board come to life, but first I can’t wait to accessorize, because let’s face it – shopping is more than half the fun!!

Stay tuned for before and after pictures once all of the pieces arrive!

Leave a Reply

